Recent content by WorldPeace

1. WorldPeace

White, Milky Substance in Brine Tank

I performed the 3 manual regenerations with just clean water. The purpose was to clean out that gross, milky, white substance. It's interesting that you mentioned that during the brine draw, water comes from the water supply, not the resin tank. That milky white substance slowly disappeared...
  2. WorldPeace

Diamond vs Morton

Anyone experience any problems with Diamond Crystal Bright and Soft pellets recently? I know this has been discussed many times before but I'm wondering if the slightly grey color of Morton Clean and Protect salts are fine. My back story is the following. Recently, my brine tank was...
  3. WorldPeace

Water Filters of America

Unfortunately, I have no experience with Water Filters of America. I ended up going with AFW Filters because I heeded Dittohead's advice about using either a Fleck or Clack. I do think that besides the control valve and resin beads, most water softeners are basically the same. It's just a...
  4. WorldPeace

I just got word back from my town's water department. A nearby firehouse (½ mile away) has been undergoing construction and been using a fire hydrant with their construction equipment. There is no way to be certain but there is a good chance this might have been the cause rather than the salt...
  5. WorldPeace

I've only had my water softener for a year. And I didn't ever clean it since it was installed about 11 months ago. I don't know when the brine tank got contaminated since I had my teenage son refill the salt the last few times. (I would tell him to check the salt level and fill it if it was...
  6. WorldPeace

If it's coming from the Diamond Crystal pellets, what do you think it is? NaCl dissolves completely into the water but this milky substance settled at the bottom of the brine tank. (There was also an oily, white film on the water surface.)
  7. WorldPeace

Brine Tank Inlet Water - Cloud of Debris, Floating Flakes