Recent content by soccer123

1. S

MDI Vertical sump pump switch?

Has anyone used a MDI VS-120R1R9L-01B Vertical Float switch for a sump pump? I have a Rhombus VerticalMaster and it has stuck on the side of the sump basin causing a flood. This MDI Vertical switch has a guide for the float that may help to reduce the failures...
  2. S

3/16 " hole for Zoeller Sump Pumps -where?

My Zoeller Sump is pumping into a Y and the bottom of the Y has an end cap with the 3/16" hole pointing (vertically) down at the water. It was installed by the plumber when the house was build. Is this arrangement releaving the "air-lock" possiblity as the pump manufacturer recomends? There...
  3. S

Sump Pump Basin Sizing

2 sump basins with 2 pumps It sounds like there is no disadvantage to having two 18"x24" sump basins. Am I correct? I would like use two sump pumps because I am pumping so close to the basement floor. Either 1/2 hp pump would be atequate to keep the basement dry and the duplication would...
  4. S

Sump Pump Basin Sizing

Two sump basins? Is there a disadvantage to having two 18"x24" sump basins next to each other if they are connected by a short pipe? The two sump basin solution might be easier to achieve given the ammount of water that is coming in (approx 15-20 gal/minute). Basement flooded last night...
  5. S

Sump Pump Basin Sizing

Sump basin level? Where should the top of the sump basin be? My sump basin is about 6" below the (top of the) basement floor and about 2" below the bottom of the concrete slab. I would like to raise the sump basin up to the level of the basement floor. I am only pumping the top 1/2 of...
  6. S

Sump Pump Basin Sizing

The 10 minutes of pumping is to clear the top 1/2 of my sump basin. I have moved the pump up so that it starts near the top of the basin and stops just below the two 4" intake pipes. These pipes are flowing about 50% if the water level in the sump basin is below them. By pumping above them...
  7. S