Recent content by Ryan Miehm

1. Ryan Miehm

Job pricing opinions

I’m looking for opinions on how some plumbers out there charge for jobs such as basement bathroom rough in’s, main floor rough in’s, etc. By the hour? Per fixture? Flat rate? I’m fairly new with my own business and looking for opinions
  2. Ryan Miehm

Plumbing in cold air return space between wall studs?

I came across a job where PEX water lines and 1 1/2” system 15 PVC drain/vent line was running in a cold air return for furnace in an industrial condo/warehouse unit (office space and warehouse space) that is only one floor. Is this allowed or no?
  3. Ryan Miehm

Shutting boilers down

Is it good to shut off the breaker for DHW boilers before shutting down the cold water supply in an apartment building? I’ve had a few cases where the boiler won’t fire back up after turning the water supply back on
  4. Ryan Miehm

Installing new laundry room and bathroom

What’s the best way to determine if the main drain at the front of the house is deep enough to allow for that 2% fall for the whole run?
  5. Ryan Miehm

Installing new laundry room and bathroom

Looking to install a new bathroom and laundry room in basement... what’s the best/easiest way to determine if there’s enough fall from the sanitary drain going out the foundation outside to the location of the new bathroom/laundry?
  6. Ryan Miehm

Wrong connection?

Seen this at a supplier... is using a wye to connect to vent not against code?... in Canada anyway
  7. Ryan Miehm

Laundry Rough in question

Yeah that’s code here, no clean outs required really other that on kitchen sink drains, and Santees on back for venting
  8. Ryan Miehm

Moving a kitchen sink

1.8 metres is the number you’re looking for, this is the max distance allowed from the trap to the vent connection.
  9. Ryan Miehm

One sink two drains.

Looks like the one will be for your drain, the other a clean out
  10. Ryan Miehm