Recent content by Kwei

1. K

Urgent - No Water - Moen Cartridge Stuck

Moen cartridge nut stuck Thanks, Jim for the suggestion. I used some kind of lime remover (Comet) instead of vinegar, because my wife didn't want the bathroom filled with vinegar smell. I will keep my finger crossed. Kwei
  2. K

Urgent - No Water - Moen Cartridge Stuck

I am in the process of replacing the cartridge of a Moen 2-handle faucet in one of our bathrooms because of a leak, but am stuck pretty much from the very beginning. I don't have the name of the model for this 11-year-old faucet, but from browsing Moen's site, this Chrome two-handle bidet...
  3. K

Hole in back of American Standard Toilet

Broken seal? I'm no expert, but sounds like the wax seal is broken and you need to have it redone.
  4. K

Closet Flange too high for a Toto Drake

Toilet booster Jim and mrjetskey, Thanks for your inputs, guys. You made a good point about the importance of water-proofing. I worried about it, too, so I went out and bought a 3/8 inch thick PVC slate and cut out a piece in the shape of the toilet base with a jigsaw. Marble platform...
  5. K

You're a real pro Thank you, Mike, for explaining these options. The hacksaw blade trick is rather interesting because I didn't think those 2 pieces can be separated after being glued together. I live in San Diego, where you don't usually find basement under a house, so access to...
  6. K

Weighing my options Mike, Thanks for responding. The flange is probably made of black plastic ABS (I hit it with a tool and it made a dull sound), with closed slots and open holes, and so oriented that bolts are in the open holes. Its top is almost 3/4 in above the floor (the top isn't...
  7. K