Recent content by bob_cville

1. bob_cville

Which Pipes Are the Water Pipes I Insulate?

I'm not an expert, and from the looks of things neither were some of the plumbers who've worked there in the past. If your plan is to insulate the hot water pipes only for energy loss reasons, one method of determining which are hot water pipes, is to turn on every hot water spigot, and then...
  2. bob_cville

Venting Issue With Shower Remodel

As a possible plan "B" for the project one option being discussed is to place a column (of some sort TBD) at the corner of where the new tiled shower will be, and put the 1 1/2" vent pipe inside that column, so that the vent is roughly in the same location as before, but closer to the tub...
  3. bob_cville

Venting Issue With Shower Remodel

We are remodeling our Master bath with a plan of changing the 3 foot by 4 foot one piece fiber glass shower to a tiled shower with two tiled walls and two glass walls. I found this picture looking toward the shower which has the door in front of the toilet and a wall dividing the the shower...
  4. bob_cville

Dam on pond Problem

This is an artist conception what the crack looked like:
  5. bob_cville

Dam on pond Problem

The problem is not fixed, but I have managed to patch it to make it less of a problem. By using epoxy putty that claimed to be able to set up under water, and some fiberglass tape to hold the epoxy in place, I have managed to reduce the leak from about 1-2 gallons per minute to about 8 oz per...
  6. bob_cville

Dam on pond Problem

Sorry if this isn't the right forum here. Maybe it belongs in the well forum or the irrigation forum since it is not an indoor plumbing problem, and the water isn't really under pressure, but the depth of the pond and the drop to the valve give a pretty good simulation of water pressure...
  7. bob_cville

Dam on pond Problem