Recent content by BigLou

1. BigLou

Internal cable clamps and old wiring

This is generally correct, they will however gladly sue any body they don't insure if they think they are at all to blame. http://library.findlaw.com/1999/Jun/1/127907.html
  2. BigLou

Internal cable clamps and old wiring

Mike, I am not an electrician not even close. Last time I checked an arc can get to over 5k degrees am I supposed to believe that a plastic box is going to confine a 5000 degree arc in any meaningful way ? Lou
  3. BigLou

Is This Up To Code?

Alelectrician Just because everybody is doing it does not make it right. I know with most things building there is the "test" answer and the "real world answer". I however don't think its prudent to be giving DIY's anything but the most code compliant answer. They will often times misapply...
  4. BigLou

RePlumbing old hot water system for efficiency

Or worse yet you will get a lot of condensation in both the firebox and the chimney. Any time the exhaust drops below 140 you get condensation. It may not be very likely in the fire box but I have replaced many a chimney due to oil burner condensate. You should see what the sulphuric acid does...
  5. BigLou

best heating unit for small radiant with solar backup?

Oh great master plumber who knows all. Tell me where exactly it says I can only get 30% or less of my hot water heating needs ? I think you need to re read it and understand their assumptions and re think what you just said. I would like to hire you as my stock broker and retirement agent...
  6. BigLou

Low Temperature Hyronic systems?

How about radiant baseboards or wall panel radiators ? Even the old cast iron radiators would work well in your situation. Like NH master said at low water temps you don't get a whole lot of convection out of fin tube so don't count on it for heat. I have lots of steel fin tube(heavy)...
  7. BigLou

Working with propane and natural gas questions