Recent content by beerdog

1. beerdog

Toilet installation help - toilet sits on flange

I avoided spillage by just being careful. The area surrounding it was clear. Packed it in with a 2lb drilling hammer and some flat tipped iron puches.
  2. beerdog

Paying the minimum cost would be fair.That is how you make a profit when you get good. Job was completed. I removed it by drilling out the lead. I just was not comfortable breaking it off since I am not very experienced. I just could not get over the the thought that I would crack the pipe...
  3. beerdog

Thanks for the info. I went to buy a new flange and the guy at the counter said to reuse the one I removed because it was better than what is sold today. It is much beefier and has a larger internal lip to pack the oakum on to. I still bought the new one. He said bring it back if I decide not to...
  4. beerdog

Thanks for the link Terry. I tried looking at some books on how to do this but all they show is installing an expanding repair flange. Well, I got the flange off using the method of drilling out the lead. It was definitly a poor installation. The flange easily sits level. I have a few...
  5. beerdog

I cleaned it up real good and now understand how this goes together. The pipe is plumb. The flange is simply poorly installed and tilted to rear. I will likely call a plumber. Sounds liek a 15 minute job for a pro. What should I expect to pay....ballpark? I am guessing $100-150 installed...
  6. beerdog

Are they really the same? I think HD had the AS Champion for $30 less. GRRRR. I corrected my post. The flange is actually a 1/4" higher in the front. I still have to measure it, but I think I will have to shim it or build up the floor 3/4". That just seems like too much and will be very...
  7. beerdog