Recent content by Andy Ring

1. Andy Ring

Rerouting Drain pipes in concrete slab: DIY or call a pro?

I am a fairly accomplished DIY plumber, but all my previous projects have been on bathrooms and kitchens where the plumbing was accessible from beneath and in wood framing. Now, I'm contemplating renovating a bathroom that is on a concrete slab (not a basement, however). The toilet and shower...
  2. Andy Ring

Recirculator works to prevent frozen pipes

Thanks to this board, I found out about hot water recirculators. Since I have now survived one winter, I want to report back that a recirculator seems to be a good last ditch solution for pipes susceptible to freezing. I have a bathroom addition on my house made of concrete block. The...
  3. Andy Ring

Ripping WonderBoard...

What about using Hardiboard? If it will work, its' a lot easier to cut than Wonderboard and gives cleaner edges. You can cut it on a tablesaw no problem.
  4. Andy Ring

Ripping WonderBoard...

Won't traditional scoring and snapping work? Not sure what your application is, but why would the edges need to so clean. You can always use a shurform plane to clean up the edges afterwards. If you must have really clean edges, I don't think the table saw is your best option. I have cut...
  5. Andy Ring

When is it worth fixing a water heater?

Its not the pressure relief valve that's leaking, BTW.
  6. Andy Ring

When is it worth fixing a water heater?

I hear of people fixing their water heaters rather than replacing, but I'm not sure when it makes sense to do so. I have a gas 40 gallon heater that is leaking fast through one of the bolts on top of it (not cold in or hot out) maybe the diptube don't know much about water heaters. The heater...
  7. Andy Ring

Hot Water Recirculation Choices