Help at a preschool, toilet hole cover

Users who are viewing this thread

jflowers

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a preschool teacher soon to be director looking for advice. Our location used to be a hair salon so there are things in weird places. For example there is the toilet hole in the floor of what is now our break room but, I think there is a problem with it because it often smells. So I have a few questions. My partner is fairly handy but not a plumber so I wanted to get some advice before I accidentally do wrong.
A little background, the business owner is capable but tends to try to do things on their own and often cuts corners either to cut costs or through ignorance. We get wafts of smells throughout the day, luckily no one uses the room because has been neglected and is often used for random storage. I want to make it a nice space we can actually use and enjoy.

My partner says that it shouldn't smell of it is properly sealed. . Is this true? If it isn't true, is there anything I could possibly do about that? The owner's solution was to install a fan which is super loud and rattling so I'd love to get rid of it.

Second, I took pictures and my partner is guessing that either the owner or a plumber put a 3" cover into a 4" hole. In order to make this work it appears that they put the cover into a pipe which they threaded into the hole. We think this may be the reason for the smell and why it protrudes above ground so much. Is this likely the case from the photo?

Obviously the solution would be to put a correct size cover into the hole but it is an old building, I'm wondering if it is possible that the pipe is 3.5" and if that is the case what can I do about it? I didn't see anything on Amazon except for a clean out plug for outside.

Thank you for taking the time to read, any help/advice is appreciated. I want to fix this but I don't want to open it up and find that I can't fix it right away.

Attachments

• PXL_20230322_004202699~2.jpg