Tank and Pressure upgrade?

Users who are viewing this thread

Byron Westbrook

DIY guy, gotta lot to learn
Reaction score
Total newbie here. I bought a home about a year ago and it has a well. I’m getting rust out of the pressure tank and I’m going to replace it with a new one.

The old one was a 20 gallon with the pressure switch set at 30 and 50. We’ve had a problem with low pressure at all our faucets and appliances.

The new tank is 32 gallons and comes pre-charged at 38 pounds. I bought a new 40/60 switch.

Before I install it, how can I know if my current well and submersed pump can support the new setup? It’s below ground obviously, so I don’t see an ID plate or any specs. Just a well head out in the yard. We’ve never had a shortage of water, just low pressure. Previous owner was 96 and moved to Florida after selling. Can’t ask him!

Reach4

Reaction score
Are you asking if upgrading from a 20 gallon pump to a 32 gallon pump will make it harder on the pump? Definitely not. It will make it easier on the pump. A 32 gallon tank holds about 8 gallons of water. If your pump delivers 8 gpm, it will take a minute to fill. Running the pump longer is better for the pump than shorter cycles. You want to size a tank to let the pump run a minimum of a minute. That is not a hard limit, but its is a good minimum target.

But you can get rust out of a pressure tank if that is the only problem. It takes a little time.

Precharged Pressure tank flush:
1. Connect a hose to the sediment drain valve, and run that to where you plan to drain the water. I suggest filtering the output through a cloth if you suspect the sediment may include sand.
2. Turn off the pump.
3. Open the drain valve, and let it drain until the water stops. It would be possibly interesting to watch the first water that comes out.
4. Close the valve, and turn the pump back on, and let pressure build.
5. Repeat steps 2, 3 and 4 as needed.

Reactions: RIR

Byron Westbrook

Reaction score