Sump Pump Check Valve on Washing Laundry Machine

Users who are viewing this thread

JoeThomas

Reaction score
I am a resident and my apartment manager purchased a Everbuilt THD1020 (In-Line Sump Pump Check Valve) , and installed in the back hose of our washing machine. The back hose would leak detergent soap and water. Is it a good practice to install In-Line check valves like this on laundry machines? The original hose kept leaking water/soap, so decided to add this.

** My main question is, does it make dirt/waste come back into the washing machine itself, and dirty the clothes more. I am a resident and curious about this.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Everbil...-Line-Sump-Pump-Check-Valve-THD1020/205616001

T6q6p.png

bHUA4.png

Last edited:

Tuttles Revenge

In the Trades
Reaction score
The most likely reason that water was coming out of the drains is because they're clogged up steel drains. Likely need to be snaked / jetted clean.

The check valves are not going to cause dirty water to back into the clothes washers in my opinion.. but they may cause some issue with pressurizing the old drains.

Hmm... on second thought the washers likely have a check valve built into them.. but the check valves installed arent going to close in a vertical position.. So essentially they serve no purpose other than to seal the connection between the hose and the drain. The flapper is going to hang down all of the time.

JoeThomas

Reaction score
The most likely reason that water was coming out of the drains is because they're clogged up steel drains. Likely need to be snaked / jetted clean.

The check valves are not going to cause dirty water to back into the clothes washers in my opinion.. but they may cause some issue with pressurizing the old drains.