How to tell if a solder joint is good

Users who are viewing this thread

Travis K

Reaction score
Hi everyone. In the past 20 years I have had only 1 call back on a bad solder joint. I am a general contractor and don't do much solder work anymore but I always worry about the soundness of a soldered joint.
Most of the time the capillary effect shows itself and I can clearly see the solder getting sucked in to the joint but on occasion the solder just appears to bead up on the lip of the fitting. This happened on 1 joint on my current remodel.
I used tinning Flux on these and I feel confident of all the joints except this one. It's a straight coupler that has the original pipe below it and a new short section going up to a 90 that then tapers to 1/2 inch and to a pex adapter. The bottom side of the coupler looks great and sucked in plenty of solder. The upper part never really felt like it flowed right. I did work from bottom up and am hoping that it sucked in plenty of solder and it's fine.
After it cooled for an hour I hooked up the pex and turned the water back on. I gave the coupler a few taps with a wrench to see if I could get it to spring a leak. It didn't.

I am getting ready to cover the wall with sheet rock and it will be covered with a tile wainscoting. I don't want this to leak.
Should I consider it good? Is there another way to test it? Or should I redo the section with new pipe? I do feel like I properly cleaned and fluxed the work before getting started.
Thoughts?
Travis

20220504_132922.jpg
20220504_132913.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
Top one may be fine-- not sure. Bottom one does not look good.

I don't know how it got that way. Pipe and fitting not cleaned well enough? Not hot enough? Not fluxed well?

Tinning flux make things solder better usually.

James Henry

In the Trades
Reaction score