Will this pass inspection, or additional vent needed?

Users who are viewing this thread

Ptwinter

Reaction score
Newbie here, thanks for your help with my research.

I am building a one story addition that is not tied to the existing plumbing system. I have a couple of questions regarding the DWV in the UPC.

3" main drain pipe runs to 4" sewer. There are four connections to this drain pipe, from upstream to downstream, they are as follows:

2" shower into horizontal 3x3x2 wye. Branch is about 3' from p trap to drain pipe and is approximately 2' upstream from vent.
2" vent from roof into vertical 3x3x2 wye. Also, if possible, would like to have washer drain into the vent.
2" lav into 3x3x2 wye horizontal. This branch is about 8' from drain pipe and will be vented to main vent by 2" above ceiling and is about 2' downstream of the vent.
3" WC into 3x3x3 wye horizontal. This is about 2' to 3" drain and about 3'6" downstream of the vent

Questions: Do I need an additional vent upstream or downstream in this system? If needed, can it be tied into the existing vent?

under slab plumbing 2.jpg

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
With UPC code the washer needs it's own vent, and the bathroom needs it's own venting. The washer can't be part of the bathroom wet vent. It's a pumped fixture, pushing way too much water for that to work.

The washer could wye in downstream of the bathroom.
The lav run with 2" could wet vent the toilet and the shower. You still need an end of the line cleanout. Sometimes that is at the lav, hidden in the cabinet and accessible.

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score
To be clear, what you have is fine as long as you tie the laundry in downstream of all 3 bathroom fixtures; it can't drain into the dry vent. And of course the laundry needs a vent, which could tie into either of the 2 dry vents shown.