Navien Combi Boiler with Hydronic Air Handler

Users who are viewing this thread

SeanTech

Reaction score
First let me say, I am new to Combi-Boilers, so bare with me if I ask dumb questions.

I recently converted from Oil to Gas for many reasons (including getting a whole house generator). I went with a Navien NFC-200 175 Combi Boiler that is using my three existing First Co HBXB-HW Hydronic Air Handlers (one for each of the three zones in my 4BR house) and three new Taco ECM 007e Circulators. The system is using Cryo-Tek 100 Antifreeze (mixed with water) since two of the Air Handlers are in two differnt attics at different ends of the house. The three air handlers are used for both HEAT in the winter (location is New England) and Air Conditioning in the Summer. The conversion happened this week. So far the on-demand Domesic Hot Water (DHW) has worked great, having no problem keeping up with the Shower, dishwasher and washing machine needs for our home.

The question is I have is this. When there is a call for hot water, the system shuts off the three Taco Circulator pumps for the three heating zones (as I believe is normal for Combi-Boilers which prioritze DHW). If this happens when one of the zones is heating, the First Co Air Handler continues to run on that zone. Since there is no Taco circulation of hot water in that zone(s), the Air Handler quickly starts blowing COLD Air until the DHW request is completed. When someone is taking a shower this could be 20 minutes (Yeah, I know that is a long shower). I assume this is NOT correct? It seems to me that the Air Handler(s) should be SHUT OFF when the Combi Boiler has a request for Hot water since the Taco circulators are show off at this time. Also I assume in summer when there is a request for Hot Water I would NOT want to Air Handlers to shut off on a DHW request since they can contine providing cold Air from the Compressor.