Noisy exhaust AO Smith Vertex 100K

Users who are viewing this thread

PlumberJohn

Reaction score
I put in a replacement Vertex heater after 14 years life with the old one. After about 6 months I noticed a bubbling noise outside. It almost sounded like it was popping and for a better word farting. Well as a retired plumber I put it off and told my wife I’d look at it. Well it finally started to annoy me as well! So down to the basement I went, I loosen the clamps on the exhaust tee and find this! It appears to me to be pieces of a dip tube, is this part of the heater? Has anyone else ever seen this before?

5B60FC16-E47C-41C5-B62B-81B80ACC79A9.jpeg
18CCABB4-CFB1-4DAC-AC6E-02C2F4DB60A5.jpeg
5B60FC16-E47C-41C5-B62B-81B80ACC79A9.jpeg

https://www.hotwater.com/Resources/Literature/Instruction-Manuals/Residential-Gas/Vertex™-100-BTX-Service-Handbook-(318556-000)/

Vertex-High-Efficiency-Power-Direct-Vent-Gas-Water-Heater.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

PlumberJohn

Reaction score
Looks like some junk that must have been laying in the flu pipe for decades to me..
maybe parts of the old fan blade that flew off up into the chimney>>.??

Is it copper or just tin metal>??

It’s blue plastic. I assume it’s something that was put in the heater during manufacturing. I replaced a smaller vertex with the 100K vertex. My concern is it’s something in the heater breaking down. This was found in the tee at the base of the heater, so it was inside the heater!

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
6 months? That would worry me too. I added a link to your post above, very different looking. I haven't installed one of these yet.
My son Taylor has a direct vent from 2008 that will need replacing soon. I'm sure sooner than he thinks. He's a software engineer. Very good at that.

PlumberJohn

Reaction score
6 months? That would worry me too. I added a link to your post above, very different looking. I haven't installed one of these yet.