How do I stop my American Standard Reliant lavatory faucet from leaking?

How do I stop the American Standard Reliant lavatory faucet (hot only) leak?

Votes: 0 0.0%

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Users who are viewing this thread

Manco

Reaction score
How do I stop my American Standard Reliant lavatory faucet from leaking? It doesn't have a big leak but it's big enough to keep things (like the floor of my vanity) wet most or all of the time.

In the second attachment you can see a drip in the middle hole of the vanity. Sometimes I notice a drip on one of the bolts that are now rusted.

American Standard Reliant.jpg
American Standard leak.jpg

James Henry

In the Trades
Reaction score
That is a typical sign of water getting underneath the faucet. You'll have to remove the faucet and reset it with plumbers putty under the base.

Manco

Reaction score
Assuming the water follows gravity, what keeps the water from accumulating around the inside of the faucet? I'm a novice, and what you said leads me to believe that the plumber's putty just keeps the water from "going further downhill" (sorry, I don't know the right words to explain everything).

Also, I notice water accumulating in small amounts around the faucet when either the hot or cold water is turned on.

Thank you for responding!

If possible, I want to keep water from accumulating.

Last edited:

James Henry

In the Trades
Reaction score
If you want to test where the water is coming from, turn the faucet on and look underneath with a flashlight to see where it is leaking, if you don't see any drips then pour some water around the base of the faucet and look again with the flash light. The only other explanation would be that your bathroom is super humid.

Manco

Reaction score
If you want to test where the water is coming from, turn the faucet on and look underneath with a flashlight to see where it is leaking