Looking for obscure adapter

Users who are viewing this thread

Baltik

Reaction score
So I have a 1.5” slip connection on one side and would love to connect it to a 2” female threaded. Space is super tight so ideally looking to do it in a single adapter but can use two provided they are low profile, any ideas?

E0C11DB8-BA5E-45B8-BC42-FD88AA4FFA45.jpeg
585C2BB2-F38C-4585-A277-1BFBF0A02BDD.jpeg

Baltik

Reaction score

Tuttles Revenge

In the Trades
Reaction score
What is wrong with the threaded adapter Wayne first proposed? looks like a single fitting.

What is that gray fitting anyway? Some form of trap?

Reach4

Reaction score
I’m not thinking straight, lol. Is stainless ok in a dwv application or will it eventually rust through?
I am not a pro. I expect stainless is good for DWV.

The reducing nipple may be the better choice. Put washer and nut on that. https://www.homedepot.com/p/Everbil...with-Rubber-Reducing-Washers-C2698C/205154062

https://www.zoro.com/zoro-select-2-x-1-12-mnpt-reducing-nipple-sch-80-rn200-150/i/G3452626/
https://www.sprayerdepot.com/products/2-x-1-1-2-poly-reducing-nipple

One concern is if the 1.5 inch slip joint pipe would fit into the schedule 80 1.5 side. Schedule 80 pvc pipe average ID is 1.500. Using a 1.25 inch trap would remove that concern.

Last edited:

Stuff

Reaction score
Please provide an overview of what the job is.

Assume you are trying to connect the white tailpiece to the black ABS drain behind it with a trap?

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score
The plumbing code requires the trap to have a minimum 2" seal depth. That's the height of water from the top of the lowest cross section to the trap weir, aka the bottom of the outlet of the trap.

Not sure what type of equipment that part is designed for, but if it doesn't have a 2" trap seal depth, you can't use it for a bathtub trap.