Plumbing Waste Diagram Check

Users who are viewing this thread

Erik R. Quackenbush

Reaction score
I am an architect in Richmond finishing off my attic to handle my growing family. I've finished framing, electrical, and mechanical, and am now designing the plumbing for an additional full bath. I know the building code well, but not the specifics of the plumbing code, so I thought I'd sign up and get some advice. The attached diagram shows what I think I need to do.

Due to the age and construction of the house, I don't want to cut any of the existing floor framing members, so I'm trying to plumb this accordingly. Blue is waste, yellow is vent. For the vanity I was going to use an AAV, and for the toilet I was going to pipe a vent to the roof. All the waste lines run parallel to the floor joists until they can drop down through the top of a closet, where they hook up and head down through the floor to tie into the main waste line in the crawlspace.

One error that I already know is that I need a long sweep tee where the tub drain connects into the toilet drain. Does anything else look like it won't pass code?

Attachments

• plumbing.jpg
    plumbing.jpg
    121.4 KB · Views: 192

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
What size floor joists?

The tub should come off the lav vertical with a santee and 90 over to the tub drain, all graded at 1/4" per foot. You can't drop it there. The wet portion of the lav is 2".

Tub can be wet vented by the lav assuming there is at least venting through the roof in other parts of the home.

Dropping the toilet into a fitting on it's back needs a wye or a combo fitting, not a santee. With a santee, the poop hits and spreads both ways. The planned vent there would soon fill up and be blocked. Anytime I plan for a toilet, it's a 90 and downstream of the 90 I either wye off for a vent or I wye the line into a waste line. No tees on the horizontal or on their backs.