Advice on removing arsenic and radon

Users who are viewing this thread

Mike D

Reaction score
Long time lurker, first time poster

I’m a homeowner, with a well, in need of a new softener and filtration system. I currently have a ~20 yr old softener that I’m going to replace. Location: Newburyport (border of MA and NH, seacoast) zip 01950. 4 bathroom house.

I've tested the water annually in the few years we've lived here, and the numbers appear relatively stable. Based on the water sample (last week's untreated water analysis is attached), my biggest concerns are arsenic and radon, plus lowering hardness. There may have been a sulfur smell (noticed one day before we moved in when there was no salt in the brine tank). I'm new to this though, is there anything else from the analysis to be worried about?

I’ve spoken to three local companies for quotes, and I’ve received three different ways to solve the arsenic + radon problem.

Company 1: aeration + Entipur 6T75-2M softener
Company 2: carbon adsorption + Kinetico 2030s twin tank softener
Company 3: R/O (2 faucets + fridge) + either an Avantapure 435 or EcoMax softener

Prices are in the $5k-8k range.

There seems to be no consensus from the companies on how to solve the problem, other than the acknowledgement that if it doesn’t completely work they can always install something else too. Will all of the methods reduce radon and arsenic down to zero? I can't make sense of it.

Alternatively, rather than using a dedicated water company, I can use my plumber and ask them to install anything we want him to. Seems fleck is one of the more popular brands on the forums for a softener.

I’m looking for help making a decision on the right system for us. Any help is appreciated!

Thanks very much!

water-report.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
Prices are in the $5k-8k range.
That's big.

You understand that all of your levels for the things that you plan to treat are well under the suggested health levels.