Spacer used for toilet flange repair. Toilet leaks at base. Help!

Users who are viewing this thread

Harold Balls

Reaction score
I have limited plumbing experience, gained only by watching tradesmen as well as YouTube. In short, I installed a 1/4 inch spacer to fix a broken PVC flange per suggestion from someone at Home Depot working part time who claimed to be an unemployed union plumber. I'm not sure of his skills, and he responded so lethargically and with odd pauses as if he was on drugs. I questioned three times if I should use a stainless steel flange repair kit and he just shrugged and said I could use either. However, I'm not sure I can squeeze such a piece into that tiny space provided by whoever did the tile job.

Following his advice, I drilled the concrete under the original flange and affixed the spacer with four Tap-Con concrete screws, drilling straight through the old flange which I left glued in place. Please see photos.

I used a Fluidmaster rubber seal, thinking it was better than wax and since I could reset it if it leaked. Of course, it did, and water came out very slowly from the front part of the toilet base. I then removed the toilet. I tried to remove the sticker on the spacer flange, thinking that might prevent a seal, but it would not come off, leaving gunky residue. I aborted removal of the sticker.

I did not bother to see if the new spacer was level. When I bolted the toilet, it did not move. I did not use any shims. I do not like to caulk the bottoms of toilets because of the look, and did not caulk.

Understanding the problem from the above, coupled with the attached photos, what is wrong? I appreciate your replies.

Attachments

• IMG_20210309_191415.jpg
    IMG_20210309_191415.jpg
    88.3 KB · Views: 218
  • IMG_20210309_191423.jpg
    IMG_20210309_191423.jpg
    116.2 KB · Views: 207
  • IMG_20210309_191433.jpg
    IMG_20210309_191433.jpg
    67.4 KB · Views: 733
  • IMG_20210309_194314.jpg
    IMG_20210309_194314.jpg