Sewer gas smell advice / newer Reno / new smell

Users who are viewing this thread

Gary Hancock

Reaction score
Hi Terry , long time reader but first time poster. so in a nutshell.
Master bathroom Reno . House built in 1984 . Lived here for the last 20 years / no smell from sink . 1.3years ago decided on a Reno . Existing plumbing for duel sinks ran thru the vanity and was built to accommodate. All was well .
We bought a new vanity $$$ and didn’t want to butcher it for the same fit so we hired a plumber to accommodate us .
I’m a mechanic not a plumber so bare with me .
It was plumbed through the wall obviously . so now we are getting a gas smell intermittently coming up through the drain . It’s random / sometimes running slight water ? Sometimes running water to brush teeth and also running water and flushing the toilet beside it ?
it has happened during hot summer temps and cold so I’m assuming a frozen vent isn’t the culprit?
Perhaps you may notice something in the before and after pics I post ? Hopefully?
Fortunately (I think? ) the opposing wall has a similar bathroom setup and it currently gutted for a similar Reno less the drywall removed but it can be if required at this point... hope you can help and advise. Thanks in advance
Also if it matter the sink drain plumbing was changed from 1 1/4” to 1 1/2” for what it worth
Once I figure out how to resize my 11mb pics on my iPhone I will add the pics sorry

Gary Hancock

Reaction score
https://www.dropbox.com/s/v7kdf1lygwwuzab/Photo 2021-01-26, 3 25 25 PM.png?dl=0
Sorry for the trivial question but I’ve read the posting pics section . Is there a size limit I can reduce the pics to so I can post it from my iPhone ?
Sorry for the trivial question but I’ve read the posting pics section . Is there a size limit I can reduce the pics to so I can post it from my iPhone ?

hancock-01.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

Gary Hancock

Reaction score