Double vanity rough in

Users who are viewing this thread

Alexpeter357

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I wanted to get some advice on a rough in I just did for a double vanity sink. This is my first time and so just wanted to get some advice and input of all you guys. I love the knowledge and experience on this page. Thanks in advance

1442F186-282F-4B5F-A795-E66BBDAE245A.jpeg

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
You should have 2" pipe when roughing for two lavs. Each trap arm can be 1.5"
The vent can also be 1.5"

double_lav_rough_1.jpg

double-lav-3.jpg

Last edited:

Alexpeter357

Reaction score
You should have 2" pipe when roughing for two lavs. Each trap arm can be 1.5"
The vent can also be 1.5"
Thanks for the input Terry! I’m really kicking myself now because I glued everything. Rookie mistake. I’ve gotten mixed opinions, but really trust yours. I’ll have to make some cuts and rework it.

wwhitney

In the Trades
Reaction score
You should have 2" pipe when roughing for two lavs.
2" is probably better, but IPC Table 710.1(2) allows 3 DFUs on a 1-1/2" horizontal branch. [Each lav is 1 DFU.] And Michigan appears to be on the IPC.

https://up.codes/viewer/michigan/mi-plumbing-code-2015/chapter/7/sanitary-drainage#table_710.1

Cheers, Wayne

P.S. UPC Table 703.2 allows only 1 DFU on horizontal 1-1/2" pipe, 2 DFUs on vertical, so quite the difference.

https://up.codes/viewer/california/ca-plumbing-code-2019/chapter/7/sanitary-drainage#table_703.2

Alexpeter357

Reaction score
2" is probably better, but IPC Table 710.1(2) allows 3 DFUs on a 1-1/2" horizontal branch. [Each lav is 1 DFU.] And Michigan appears to be on the IPC.

https://up.codes/viewer/michigan/mi-plumbing-code-2015/chapter/7/sanitary-drainage#table_710.1

Cheers, Wayne

P.S. UPC Table 703.2 allows only 1 DFU on horizontal 1-1/2" pipe, 2 DFUs on vertical, so quite the difference.