Snifter or schrader?

Users who are viewing this thread

Reach4

Reaction score
with one faucet on, its clicking every 10 sec
Do you have a decent air compressor? A "250 psi" tire inflator is not decent.

I think a compressor for this purpose should be oil-less / oil-free. A decent compressor will have a cfm or scfm rating. I don't think it has to be a high number, but a psi-only rating is not useful IMO. I intend to message you with ideas along that line. I am not a pro.

Daniel08

Reaction score

I think a compressor for this purpose should be oil-less / oil-free. A decent compressor will have a cfm or scfm rating. I don't think it has to be a high number, but a psi-only rating is not useful IMO. I intend to message you with ideas along that line. I am not a pro.
Yeah, my comressor should be fine

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
Bladder tanks don't last long when the pump is cycling every minute or two. The pump cycling on and off makes the bladder (diaphragm) go up and down until it breaks like bending a piece of wire back and forth. When the diaphragm breaks, it is the same as you have now with no air in the tank, and the pump will cycle on/off every 10 seconds or so for a short while, then the pump will be destroyed. I do think having a hydro tank at a dead end like that keeps the air charge from going out as quickly. But there is no way to charge it with air automatically as Boyce described when the tank is at the dead end. You just have to add air on a regular basis with a compressor. If you can keep air in the tank and the pump running for more than one minute and off for more than one minute while using water, it will make your pump last longer.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com