Vacuum breaker valve leak

Users who are viewing this thread

duclad

Reaction score
Hi All,
I have some experience with replacing standard anti-siphon plastic valves but NONE with brass vacuum breaker valves, so please bear with my newbie questions. My 3/4" Champion 12362 VB valve is leaking when activated (see pic). First, does anyone know if these are repairable? Maybe there are generic gasket kits? (can't seem to find any kits for this specific valve.)

If not, my second newbie question is how exactly to replace the valve. I'm thinking, after shutting off water, of first using a pipe wrench to remove the 2" horizontal connecting pipe in order to be able to screw off and replace the old valve. Would this be the correct procedure/order? ...to do this one of the female connectors must be a left-hand thread, correct? Many thanks for any advice.
-Jim

Attachments

• leaking valve photo.jpeg
    leaking valve photo.jpeg
    120.5 KB · Views: 458

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
Are these vacuum breakers for an irrigation system? What is the pipe type coming out of the ground?

I would cut the nipple between the elbow and breaker, replace everything and use a union to joint the breaker and elbow. If this is galvanized pipe it can be a PITA to do, might want change over to PVC from the elbows to the breakers. Most breakers are brass but if this is for irrigation, there are PVC breakers out there.

duclad

Reaction score
Are these vacuum breakers for an irrigation system? What is the pipe type coming out of the ground?

I would cut the nipple between the elbow and breaker, replace everything and use a union to joint the breaker and elbow. If this is galvanized pipe it can be a PITA to do, might want change over to PVC from the elbows to the breakers. Most breakers are brass but if this is for irrigation, there are PVC breakers out there.