Line to toilet hissing like crazy and slow?

Users who are viewing this thread

WanderFranco

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm a super newbie! Our toilet was randomly flushing a couple of months ago... so after some googling, it seemed that our fill valve was gone. Our house is 7 years old, so it seemed reasonable. I ordered one online and watched some Youtube videos and replaced it.

Not long after that, it started hissing and filling up slowly. Only lasted a couple of days and then worked fine for probably a month to two. Then it started hissing and filling up slowly on every fill... did some more googling and I thought maybe the flapper was gone. So I ordered a flapper and replaced it this morning.

No change at all... the hissing actually seems to be coming from the metal cord coming from the ground to the toilet. And if I go to the washroom on the other side of the wall, it's even really loud in there, almost like it's in the floor if that makes sense?

Also what's odd is that if I shut off the water to the toilet for a few hours... the next 4 or 5 flushes are fine. No hiss and it fills up quickly. Then boom it comes back right away.

I tried disconnecting the hose to the toilet and letting it run for a few seconds with just filling up a big bowl and it still hisses.

Any suggestions here? Or do I need to call a plumber? Thanks!!

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
A good chance it is the shut off valve. If it is a full turn type they do not last long after being closed for the first time in years. The seat washer degrates, sometimes they fall apart and plug things up. Try closing the valve some to see if it helps at all. If it is a 1/4 turn, it is something else. Is there a shut off under the toilet or do you need to go into the basement to turn off the water? What ever it is the valve you are closing to repair the toilet is most likely the culprit.