120 v water heater installed with 240 v line

Users who are viewing this thread

Dawn

Reaction score
Our contractor remodeled our bathroom and installed a new Rheem 20 gallon lowboy at that time. 18 months later we had to call a plumber because it stopped working. He called to tell us it was a 120v water heater installed on a 240v line and the thermostat had gone out. He said he was putting in a 240v element and thermostat. Will we have a problem if a 120v heater now has 240 v element and thermostat? Will this affect the circuits and invalidate warranty? Thanks!

Reach4

Reaction score
Will this affect the circuits and invalidate warranty? Thanks!
This won't invalidate the warranty, I would not think, but the original installation would have already invalidated the manufacturer's warranty I would think. I am not a pro. Ask the original installer to pay for this fix.

It should affect the circuits in a good way.

Phog

Reaction score
When you install a 120V appliance on a 240V electric line, you are over-driving the heater element at a little less than 400% of its normal power. This is really hard on everything- the wires, the heater elements, the thermostat, etc. Depending on the element, it could trip the breaker on a typical 30A / 10ga water heater branch circuit.

I wonder if your original contractor therefore put a bigger breaker in that is inappropriate for the wires. They clearly didn't know what they were doing in at least one major regard (wrong voltage); I'd check to see if they didn't cut another corner with putting a 40A breaker on a wire rated for 30A. That could be a fire hazard.

You can DIY this, it says on the front of the beaker switch what the current rating is.