Having trouble driving a well point for a shallow well

Users who are viewing this thread

Shepp66

Reaction score
I am new to this forum. I am attempting to a DIY well. I am using a 1 1/4 inch well point. I am located on the coast of SC. I only need to go between 15-25ft. I am stuck at 10ft. I hit hard packed sand at 9ft and it is nearly impossible to make any progress with my current set up.
more in

-I already pulled it up once and it is definately sand that is there
-I got another set up and tried a different spot-same result-hard going at 9.5ft

I have a 1 1/4 well point with 1/2 PVC going to the point and connected to a garden hose. I drilled a hole in a 2ft 4x4 and place it on top of the wider PVC with the smaller running through the hole. I have a hand sledge that I have been using to pound the PVC down. But I am literally only able to go about a 1/2 inch every couple hours.

Any tips on a better way would be really appreciated! This is my first time and I am sure I am making mistakes.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
Hard to do with a sledge. You need a post driver. They make a pneumatic post driver you can probably rent, but it may mess up the tip of the drive point. Never tried it myself.

Bannerman

Reaction score
Use a post hole auger to dig a hole the majority of the depth before driving the sandpoint.

See YT video below. Digging the hole with the auger begins at 6:20 minutes.

Reach4

Reaction score
I have a 1 1/4 well point with 1/2 PVC going to the point and connected to a garden hose. I drilled a hole in a 2ft 4x4 and place it on top of the wider PVC with the smaller running through the hole. I have a hand sledge that I have been using to pound the PVC down. But I am literally only able to go about a 1/2 inch every couple hours.
I thought you needed steel pipe, rather than PVC, to drive a sand point.