Toilet Flange: to Repair or Replace ?

Users who are viewing this thread

misty!

Reaction score
Getting ready to tackle my second bathroom remodel, and found this when pulling up the existing vinyl floor. Gross. It’s definitely been leaking. After pulling up the toilet, I found a surprisingly intact flange, but it was not screwed into the concrete and in fact, there are huge chunks of concrete missing around the pipe and flange. My second concern was the inside of the flange was seems to have “melted”. I thought it was plastic at first, but feels like a metal at least at this top part (if I look way down I can see white PVC with the telltale purple drips).

My question: does this all need to come out and start over? I have been searching everywhere for an image that looks like the inside of my waste pipe to learn more, but maybe this is something only a pro who has done tons of toilet installs would have seen (this is my first attempt at installing a new toilet with concrete subfloor). My concern is that it will actually block the waste if I leave it. As far as the flange, I’m sure a large flange repair piece will get the job done, but I worry it will cause more problems down the road. I’d rather do it right now, and thought I should ask the pros where you would start... and if I should stick with the cast iron or switch to a PVC with stainless flange. Thanks for any insight!

Attachments

• IMG_9319.JPG
    IMG_9319.JPG
    84.1 KB · Views: 229
  • IMG_9318.JPG
    IMG_9318.JPG
    77.5 KB · Views: 239
  • IMG_9320.JPG
    IMG_9320.JPG
    81.8 KB · Views: 229

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro. If you wanted to hold it down, you could fill the void beneath it with mortar, and screw that flange into the set concrete with appropriate screws.

It may be cast iron, and may be brass, but either way, it is OK. Use a magnet out of curiosity. It does look like iron, however.

misty!

Reaction score