How to fix cracked copper coupling in drain pipe

Users who are viewing this thread

jonnyblaze

Reaction score
cracked coupling.jpg

Long story short I’m a total novice, first time DIYer. trying to learn new things in quarantine. I had a leak behind the wall, after messing with it a while found that it was coming from an old epoxy putty job on the drain pipe from the master bathroom. My buddy works for con Ed and suggested using foam (which I did against my fathers advice), but the leak came back about a month later. So I removed the foam (cursing my own stupidity the whole time), cut away some more sheetrock to get a better angle and finally was able to remove the putty exposing this beauty. My dad who’s been advising me on this suggested getting it good and clean and taping it? I also had someone suggest cutting it out and putting on a fernco coupling, but there's very little play, so I'm concerned I won't be able to slip it to get around the pipes. Keeping in mind I have no prior experience or useful skills, and barely any tools (but I do have the internet and you fine ppl!) what do you suggest is the best way to repair this? Thank you!

Dj2

In the Trades
Reaction score
Replace it.
Don't have basic tools? Either buy them (you will need them in the future) or hire a plumber...in the meantime don't use this fixture, to stop further water damages.
Watch youtube "how to" vids.

jonnyblaze

Reaction score
Replace it.
Don't have basic tools? Either buy them (you will need them in the future) or hire a plumber...in the meantime don't use this fixture, to stop further water damages.
Watch youtube "how to" vids.
Thank you for the advice. apologies for the stupid question, but when you say replace it, what do you mean? Do you mean sweat it out and solder a new coupling? Because that will definitely require bringing in a pro.

Helper Dave

In the Trades
Reaction score