Users who are viewing this thread

NCGC

Reaction score
I need help with a hot water heater system in a new construction. We are going with a 50 gallon heat pump water heater with a tank booster and a recirculating pump. The plumbing company is putting in the return hot water lines for the pump but expects me to provide the water heater, pump, and tank booster. They are finishing the rough plumbing on Monday.

I am a GC and this is my own house. I have never done a house with a pump before.

What all do I need for the plumbing company to do it correctly? parts/valves, etc.

What pump would you recommend? I would like a "dumb" pump that I can control with a smart outlet so that I can have more programming control over its timing and duration. I have been looking at the taco pumps with integral flow check valve.

Planning to go with a Cash Acme tank booster on a 50 gallon A.O. Smith hybrid water heater.

I read somewhere that heat pump water heaters don't work well with circulating pumps and would run all the time, but somewhere else, I read they work fine together as long as the correct valve(s) are used so that the hot water lines don't turn in to a giant radiator.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score