Could I locate my brine tank 40 ft from my softener?

Users who are viewing this thread

Dwassner

Reaction score
And if I were to do this, are there any settings that would have to be changed to compensate?

I have been hauling bags of salt into my basement for 8 years... and it just occurred to me that maybe I could just move the brine tank into the garage?

Reach4

Reaction score
How about freezing?

Salt brine freezes at a significantly lower temperature than water, but Rochester can get pretty cold I think. Plus, when you fill the brine tank back up, the brine line will contain water rather than brine.

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
40' should be no problem at all. Worst case you might need to increase your injector 1 size to accommodate the frictional losses, but I doubt that will be necessary. We have been successful going over 200' in length. Height is the real issue.

Dwassner

Reaction score
How would I know if I need to increase the injector size?

Would I need to increase the brine fill and brine draw settings to compensate for the time it takes to get from brine tank to the softener unit?

I was thinking of putting a heated element at the bottom of the tank and along the 1ft of tubing outside the tank before it entered a heated space.

thank you

Dwassner

Reaction score
the basement is lower than the garage. The height difference between the valve and the brine tank inlet would be about 5-6 ft

Reach4

Reaction score
the basement is lower than the garage. The height difference between the valve and the brine tank inlet would be about 5-6 ft
My guess is that no injector change would be needed, since gravity is assisting the brine draw.

If you are curious and motivated enough, time how much time elapses during the BD cycle before the brine is sucked down. Typical is about 15 minutes. Try before and after the change for the best assessment of the longer brine line.