Is 18 years a long time for a hot water heater?

Users who are viewing this thread

HS2

Reaction score
I got a home depot variety (50 gallon recall it was the best of the three options they sold at the time) and it's still going strong. Should I leave well enough be or is it time to change it if it still works? I had heard of a scenario that old water tanks start to crud up pipes. Does this dog have a few more walks and runs left? I haven't flushed it religiously but maybe every 3-5 years or so.

Edit: Found a similar post, sorry guys but I think Terry's comment was telling, "Any gas water with 15 years on it is living on borrowed time."

I'll take a closer look and evaluate.
Rheem, what other brands would you recommend? Home depot still sell good stuff?

Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
If it is in a basement, I would leave it until it leaks. If it is on a second floor condo, replace it. I am not a pro.

Maybe the water in Illinois is not as hard on WHs as it is elsewhere. I expect about 30 years.

Sylvan

Still learning
Reaction score
I removed one over 40 years old and one of my accounts has his water heater replaced every ten years as he doesn't want to have an emergency or a leak while he is away

Like Clint said "do you feel lucky"

Taylorjm

Reaction score
I always like to change things like that out on my terms verses when it needs to be done. It's much nicer to be able to plan it out, find the best price, the best model for ease of installation, etc. Then take your time on the day of your choosing when you already have all the parts and tools you need.

Dj2

In the Trades
Reaction score
I recommend to change it now, when you're not under pressure for the reasons mentioned above and also because a new WH will be more energy efficient.
What brand to get is up to you. To be honest, roll your dice, as you are pretty limited to Rheem and AO Smith (or one of their off brands).

HS2

Reaction score