Valve handle blocked by gas co

Users who are viewing this thread

DIYorBust

Reaction score
Hi Folks,

I have an Apollo valve similar to the one pictured here. It's the first shutoff valve, so I cannot remove it without shutting off the water supply from the street, which wouldn't be easy. The valve is fine, but the gas company just installed an excess flow valve which blocks the operation of the handle, so I cannot close it. Is there a handle that has the stop on the other side of the nut so I could reverse it and close in the other direction, or another trick I could use here? Cutting the handle down seems to be an option, but such a short handle isn't very convenient. Any suggestions appreciated. Thanks!

23L9M.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
It seems to me that the gas company should rectify their work that blocks operation of your valve. Is this indoors?

I am not a pro.

Reach4

Reaction score
Will it work if the handel is flat with no jog in it?
A flat handle would not hit the stops.

If you cut that handle tip off, you could attach a flat piece of the same width with a couple of worm gear hose clamps to the stubby handle. That would go across the nut to the other side. I wonder if you could slide off the yellow, and put it onto your new piece.

https://www.ferguson.com/category/v...ent-handles/apollo-conbraco/_/N-zbq55eZzbq6ll some shows available handles. Would the butterfly be compatible? I don't know.

If a type 83, there is an available extension.
80242.jpg
https://ordering.fwwebb.com/woitem/80242

Smooky

In the Trades
Reaction score
Apollo BALL_VALUE_HANDLE 2_LI (2).jpg

Take the handle off. Cut the stop off the end of the handle or bend it up. Then put the handle back on. It should work pointing in either direction and will close the valve on either side of the pipe.

Last edited:

DIYorBust

Reaction score