Clogged pipe wellhead to house.

Users who are viewing this thread

zver11

Reaction score
Dealing with a nightmare well company. Needed to replace 3/4 HP submersible pump in 450 ft well. Already hit $5500 bills for replacement of pump, new wire, reuse PVC down pipe. Now company wants $2800 to replace pipe from well to house (<30') because pipe is blocked. Everything was fine until pump failed. My question is:
Could a plumber snake the line or otherwise clear a blocked standard 1" well line? Seems extreme to dig up yard and have to run a new line!

Reach4

Reaction score
Tell us about that blocked line. Steel, polythene, or what? You say 1 inch... is that 1.375 OD?

If clogged with hardness materials, I am thinking of maybe pumping an acid such as vinegar, through it for a while. Recirculate and warm the vinegar, I think.

What is the access -- pipe is connected to a pitless, or what?

Regarding snaking, I don't know. Makes some sense to try if you have access. I am not a pro.

Valveman

Cary Austin
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
cyclestopvalves.com
Which came first, the chicken or the egg? The underground line was probably blocked, which deadheaded and burned up the pump. In the pump guys defense, he couldn't tell the line was blocked until he replaced the pump. Now the line is blocked. I would have hated to have to tell you that. If you can get a line through, they maybe able to pull through and bust up the old line while pulling in a new one. Probably be as expensive as digging to replace the line though.

Craigpump

In the Trades
Reaction score
The only thing that would block the line is if the check valve in the pump broke loose and got pumped up and got lodged someplace. OR, someone installed a checkvalve underground and it failed.

Have you seen water being pumped onto the ground after installation of the new pump? I ask because it's not impossible for a check valve on the drop pipe to be installed upside down.