DWV plan for new bathroom

Users who are viewing this thread

MattF

Reaction score
I'm planning on adding a new bathroom to my basement. I have limited (none) experience with new plumbing layouts. I think what I plan to do should be ok. Still having a hard time wrapping my head around wet venting. I've attached a drawing of my plans for the DWV plumbing. Anyone willing to have a look and see if there are any problems with this?

Thanks!

Attachments

• bathroom plan.jpg
    bathroom plan.jpg
    34.2 KB · Views: 307

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I would wye off for the shower and use a 2" combo up to a 2×1.5" santee and arm over to the lav. The 2" wet vents the toilet.

MattF

Reaction score
Thanks Terry! Really enjoy your website. It's been a great resource for me.

I foolishly went ahead and started today. I've attached a picture of what I have so far. Big orange cap on the toilet stub, small orange cap on pipe that will go to the lav, vent will continue on straight up from the vertical pipe (inside the wall). Shower will be on the right. The two inch pipe going from the shower to the main three inch line is about 4 feet long, I figured that was short enough to get away with using the vent from the lav. I'll pick up the parts to connect the vent with the shower line tomorrow.

IMG_20180507_181826.jpg

Thanks again,
Matt

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The shower isn't vented that way. The lav goes off the shower and not the toilet at hat point.
If you're keeping it that way, the shower needs to be vented before it enters the toilet drain downstream of the venting.

Stereo

Reaction score