Sump Pump

Users who are viewing this thread

CanadianSal

Reaction score
Based on feedback from the forum, there was a suggestion that a high water table might displace this basin once its put in place.
I took a look at the neighbour's setup, and he has a sump pump adjacent to the sewage pit.
So I am thinking I will do the same - as I have seen water rise and receed in this pit.

I am new to this - what would be the recommended approach - should I extend the current pit to also include a sump pump - or complete this one and cut a new hole AFTER I am finished with this one. Or Can I fit a sump pump in the current pit - outside the basin.

This is more a best practice suggestion. Appreciate your thoughts - I am guessing I will need to rent a jackhammer. Hopefully the kid at the homedepot has some wisdom on this.

Attachments

• sump.jpg
    sump.jpg
    92.2 KB · Views: 284

Mliu

Reaction score
Why would you want to complete that pit, only to cut and dig another one next to it? Just enlarge the pit as needed to fit a sump pump basin next to your sewage basin.

Make sure the sump pump basin is large enough for the sump pump you will be using (larger is better because you may need to change your pump in the future and the replacement pump may be larger). The sump pump basin will have or need holes (5/16" or 3/8") around the sides near the bottom to allow water into the basin. There should be a lot of holes: I would have at least double the area in holes as the area of the pump discharge size (e.g., for a 1-1/2" pump discharge, I would have at enough holes to provide at least 4 square inches of opening for water to enter the basin = 52 holes at 5/16" diameter).