Startup of PEX radiant heat with a Rheem eco tankless heater

Users who are viewing this thread

Larry Blsair

Reaction score
I am starting this new system up. I have a 188k natural gas eco tankless heater and have a few questions. We live in the wilds of Wyoming. About 3 years ago they plowed a NG line in that is 250 ft from our house. The closest city to us is about 100 miles away. My wife and I built the house 10 years ago and at that time I installed 1/2 PEX in the floors. Until now we have heated with a wood stove but this year the wood cutters rebelled and said no more wood cutting ( wife and daughter ). So I have to get the radiant heat working.

I was a plumber for a couple of years so I have been able to sweat in the plumbing from and to the heater to the stainless steel manifolds ( out and in ) I am using a TACO 009 pump for circulation. The heater bottom is 4 feet from the floor. All the plumbing is below the bottom of the heater.

First the natural gas is not hooked up. The connection to the main and the meter should be installed next week. so I am doing a cold run.
I have filled the system with a garden hose and pressure tested it and everything holds pressure.
I the first question is how do you purge the air from the heater? As I added water it sounded like the cold water going in always bubbled.

I have started the pump and it sounds like it is getting an air bubble occasionally. Instead of running with a steady hummm it is passing gas every so often. I have tried to purge air at both manifolds through the petcocks there and only water comes out but I can hear bubbling in the heater. I have tried to purge air at the clean out valves on the bottom of the heater again solid water out but still bubbling sounds in the heater.
Thanks for any help and suggestions. Larry

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score