PVC directly connected to well

Users who are viewing this thread

RSNovi

Reaction score
Hi All,

They install the well tap for my irrigation system. I noticed they connected PVC directly to the well pipe. I didn’t think you were supposed to do this. Please let me know. Picture attached.

Attachments

• 4C7E621E-968E-444D-9601-5B9929392FA7.jpeg
    4C7E621E-968E-444D-9601-5B9929392FA7.jpeg
    83.2 KB · Views: 201

RSNovi

Reaction score
The company came back to me after my initial question and offered to replace the PVC with PEX. Should I agree to have them do it? Thanks.

Reach4

Reaction score
If these are subject to sun, I would protect both PEX and PVC from UV.

If this is indoors, I am not sure. There is this code thing where you now are not supposed to use pvc in inhabited indoors (I am not sure of the precise wording), which is a bit odd IMO, but that's the code. I think in practice PVC before the pressure tank is probably treated as OK. I am not a pro.

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
PVC cannot be used inside the home for domestic water use. PVC fittings are Schedule 40 and the pipe needs to be Schedule 40. If it is other than Schedule 40 then get it changed out. In Florida, sold is a very thin PVC for irrigation use (its cheap) and there is no schedule printed on the pipe. It might read 160PSI or other coded alpha characters. This break very easy when bumped after several years in the ground and I hate them. I always replace them even when making short length repairs with SCH 40. Not sure what is used in MI.

https://www.mcgarryandmadsen.com/Bl...VC_be_used_for_water_pipe_inside_a_house.html