Fleck 5600, or larger? (7000?)

Users who are viewing this thread

colgate2004

Reaction score
Hi all,
I am new to water softeners and while I've done a good bit of research, I'm still not entirely confident of my choice.

My wife and I live in a 2-1/2 bath home. It's just the two of us for the time being, but we are anticipating kids.

We are on a well with effectively zero iron, manganese, copper, or arsenic (the water lab test results were below the test result minimum thresholds for each) and approx 200 ppm(mg/L) or ~12.3 grains/gallon hardness.

We don't use much water: we both take pretty quick showers, don't have any crazy "rain" heads, etc. The combined water use of the 2-unit apartment building where we used to live was about 5500 gallons per month, and that was for my wife and I plus the three people living above us, leading me to believe that my wife and I use about 35-40 gallons of water per day each.

Those numbers would seem to indicate we only need a very, very small softening system... 40gal * 2 people * 12 grains * 7 days = a mere 6720 grains... even if we double that for eventual kids, we're still barely at 15,000 grains.

On the other hand, I am one of those people who always over-sizes systems... to decrease strain, increase lifespan, maybe increase efficiency, etc.
I see though that higher-grain softening systems waste more water in each regeneration than lower-grain systems (some specs I've seen are in the range of 20 gallons for a 24K system versus 50 gallons for a 48K system), which leads me to believe that bigger, in this case, may not be better.

The system I am currently leaning toward is a Fleck 5600SXT valve in 24K, 36K, or 48K (all easily available for under $600).

I am also concerned though about pressure drop: I do like high water pressure from my faucets and showers, and I've read that the more resin (the higher the grain #), the more pressure drop will result.