What solder and flux do you recommend?

Users who are viewing this thread

Washer55

Reaction score
I'm a beginner and want to start my plumbing project soon. I'm going to do a bunch of practice runs on some spare pipe and fittings but was wondering what the best flux and solder would be for soldering 1/2 and 3/4 inch copper in the house?

I currently have some Bernzomatic WS flux and solder that came in a kit, but I wanted to check and see if there is better products to help with my chances of success.

Please let me know.

Thanks!

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
The solder choice, assuming it is lead-free as required today (at least in the USA), isn't as important.

For someone that isn't proficient in soldering, I've found that one of the tinning fluxes helps. In the US, you're required to use a water based flux (the old stuff was acid based, which actually worked better!). A tinning flux has ground up solder in it along with the flux. It makes it easier to tell when you've got the joint hot enough as you can see the solder in the flux melting. Then, you know it's time to add the stick solder to finish it up. The required fluxes today are easier to burn if you overheat the joint. Once that happens, you have to take it apart, clean everything up, then start again.

If a joint leaks, you can't just add solder...you have to take it apart, clean, and redo it.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
I haven't used Bernzomatic WS flux yet, so I can't comment on that. This is some of what I have been using.
In addition to Bridgit, I've used Sterling lead free, Silvabrite, and some others.

soldering_kit.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
I found soldering with the Oatey No. 95 flux and the Oatey Silver Lead Free Plumbing Wire Solder to be better than the old solder with lead. I had expected it to be harder to use than the old stuff.

Washer55

Reaction score