Mastic removal - Polisher with Diamabrush or 7" Grinder

Users who are viewing this thread

Soparklion

Reaction score
I need to remove paint/mastic from ~250 sq ft of concrete. I'm considering a $50 DeWalt diamond wheel on a 7" grinder vs renting a floor polisher and a Diamabrush for ~$140/day. The polisher has a hookup for a vacuum that would hopefully diminish dust...

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score
The diamond wheel might gum up pretty quickly. I did a floor where I scraped off as much as I could with the scraper and then finished cleaning it with adhesive remover.
I think the diamabrush should save enough time the the cost would be worth it, but I have no personal experience with it

Soparklion

Reaction score
The diamond wheel might gum up pretty quickly. I did a floor where I scraped off as much as I could with the scraper and then finished cleaning it with adhesive remover.
I think the diamabrush should save enough time the the cost would be worth it, but I have no personal experience with it
Thanks. Is there an adhesive remover that you would recommend?

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Many mastics soften when wetted. Is the area someplace where you could get it all wet and let it sit for a bit? If so, it will likely come up fairly easily with a scraper. A steamer might work pretty well, too. You can get scraper blades that fit on a pole. Buy a box of the blades, as they get dull fairly quickly over a concrete surface.

If you're planning to tile the area afterwards, do NOT use a chemical stripper. In fact, the mastic may have seeped into the pores of the cement, and the only way to get a reliable thinset bond would be to run a scarcifier over it to remove a thin layer. That will also rough it up a bit, also improving the thinset bond.