Shower into toilet drain

Users who are viewing this thread

bill emery

Reaction score
Thanks for the add. i am new to plumbing. I am redoing a bathroom and was wondering if i could drain the shower into the toilet? Shower would have P trap 66 in run to 1.5 in vent line to the roof. Then 20 in line and connect under the toilet into a 3 in line. Toilet has its own vent line to the roof. thanks for any help you can give

bill emery

Reaction score
so i can have a shower drain then P-trap then vent, then toilet santee fitting with the 2in drain from the shower draining into the santee fitting then 3 in line out of the house? so the shower would be up stream from the toilet, all flowing out of the house

Last edited:

Reach4

Reaction score
so i can have a shower drain then P-trap then vent, then toilet santee fitting with the 2in drain from the shower draining into the santee fitting then 3 in line out of the house? so the shower would be up stream from the toilet, all flowing out of the house
The picture your words paint is not so good. Try a paint program to illustrate.

bill emery

Reaction score
plumbing 001.jpg

Reach4

Reaction score
You need a different fitting for the toilet. No santee in the horizontal for drainage. Somebody will have a specific suggestion I hope.

California is UPC code, so your 66 inch should only be 60. Move the vent closer to the shower.

bill emery

Reaction score
You need a different fitting for the toilet. No santee in the horizontal for drainage. Somebody will have a specific suggestion I hope.

California is UPC code, so your 66 inch should only be 60. Move the vent closer to the shower.
ok i can move the drain closer to the vent. it would be 40 in run from drain to vent

bill emery

Reaction score
For the fitting under the toilet would a combination Y 1/8 bend work? If I had to I would put a bushings in it for the shower to drain into

Reach4

Reaction score