What tool is good for gas pipe union connector?

Users who are viewing this thread

Paul16887

Reaction score
I 'll replace a gas water heater and I'm a novice.
I've read a lot of information from internet and watched many Youtube clips.
I know I need to practice soldering skill for cold and hot water line.

I don't know how to proper re-connect the gas pipe with union connector.
How do I know I will not over tighten the union connector? or my tool is not strong enough to tighten the union connector? I don't have pipe wrench. I only have monkey wrench and other type
I learned I shouldn't use join compound with union connector.

Thanks advanced for all the advice.

IMG_3215.JPG
IMG_3250.JPG

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
You can put a dab of pipe dope on the mating surfaces of a union, but don't use any on the threads. It isn't needed, but won't hurt if it's only on the mating surfaces and you don't get excessive.

You really want a couple of wrenches, one to turn the nut, the second to hold other to hold the body of the fitting. It doesn't need to be superhuman tight to seal if your pipe ends align. If they are offset a bit, it makes it much harder. It also can be a bit harder when reusing the same fitting if the first was over-tightened, but not usually an issue with iron fittings...more common with brass or copper ones since they're softer. The softer material can get a ridge when tightening, and if not aligned when reusing, can leak.

Test your fitting for leaks...if it doesn't leak, it should be tight enough.

Paul16887

Reaction score
You can put a dab of pipe dope on the mating surfaces of a union, but don't use any on the threads. It isn't needed, but won't hurt if it's only on the mating surfaces and you don't get excessive.