Working with black gas pipe and water heater.

Users who are viewing this thread

sschoe2

Reaction score
Hi all

I just bought a home and the water heater is going to need to be replaced soon. It is 11 years old and it was not installed with dielectric unions causing heavy corrosion on the water fittings and some on the top of the heater tank. I am pretty good with plumbing. I am also a chemist and work a lot with gas lines though I am used to Swagelok and other compression fittings. I live in stupid Illinois which code requires all rigid connections so I can't use the yellow flex line.

How do you work with black pipe that is threaded on both ends. I assume you can't loosen it on one fitting without tightening on the other so you need to find a union with a compression fitting and take it apart from there then once it is free from the union you can unscrew the whole set from the water heater? Is that right? Also I naturally don't have the cutting and threading tools so can I go to the hardware store and ask them to cut and thread the pipe to length if I end up having to alter the gas pipe length? Any tips on lifting the big old heater alone?

sschoe2

Reaction score
aigx8Hp
aigx8Hp

Dana

In the trades
Reaction score
It's not possible to assemble it with all threaded connections without a union somewhere on the path, so find it. I may involve disassembling quite a bit of gas plumbing though, depending on just how stingy they were in the original installation.

Even though you are experienced, many states don't allow un-bonded non-licensed uncertified people to work on gas lines, so a completed DIY on this may put you at some liability if something ever goes wrong with it. Check your local regulations on that.

An old water heater full of lime deposits can be quite hefty. It's sometimes necessary to cut them up with an abrasive saw to get it out, or drag it out with a block & tackle.