Rx for Kitchen Pull Down Faucet?

Users who are viewing this thread

BubbaCarolina

Reaction score
Hi, newbie here. I’m thinking about replacing a Mico Designs Ltd faucet that just started leaking at handle. A new ceramic cartridge costs $75 plus shipping and handling. I’m considering replacing it with a new faucet since my wife doesn’t like the looks of it. I’d like a new drop down kitchen faucet that uses a brass encased ceramic cartridge.

I’m don’t know which brand makes a good quality product, and has reasonably priced cartridges that can be replaced easily.

Are the nylon encased ceramic cartridges as good as the brass encased ceramic cartridges?

Is touch or touchless technology worth it?

Any advice and/or recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
As far as the pull down faucets there are a few things to be aware of. Regardless, I do prefer the pull down type faucets.
  1. The weight that attaches to the hose is never heavy enough to pull the hose up all the way. After replacing one pull down for another I put two weights on the new faucet. It worked great. The pull down does not mean auto up.
  2. The pull down hose and weight usually hits the plumbing parts under the sink preventing the hose head from fully retracting. A little rework under the sink maybe needed.
  3. Depending on how a person uses the pull down, after a while the hose can get twisted. As you use the faucet the spout may start moving. You’ll just need to untwist it.
  4. Do get one with the magnet in the spray head. It’ll allows the head to snap back into place.
  5. The touchless is nice. My son has it in his house but since I’m not used to it I’m always grabbing the valve handle. For the touch-less to work the valve handle remains open. It also uses batteries or you can purchase a power pack for it.