Intermittent loss of water

Users who are viewing this thread

sevenseas

Reaction score
Hi everyone, new on the forum and would appreciate your advice. Since Memorial Day I've had 2 episodes of sudden loss of water. Pressure will decrease, water will stop entirely (to entire house)....but then within minutes to hours will return to normal.

I had plumber out to check system after the first episode...he suspected was due to very old pressure tank/broken gauge (present when I bought house a year ago) so these were replaced. I also have a liquid chlorine injection system with a retention tank and carbon filter, which seems to be working normally. He told me if problem recurred then had to be my well pump.

Question: is he correct in that there is no other possibility now but a well pump issue? Or could there be some other (less expensive!) cause? Can a carbon filter get clogged and cause this type of problem?

I am new to life on well water so apologies if these are dumb questions! Really appreciate everyone's expertise and help!

Reach4

Reaction score
It could be the pressure switch.

index.php

If your switch is wired as in this diagram, expect to have 240 volts AC between terminals 1 and 4.

When the pressure switch is asking for water, there will be 240 volts between 2 and 3. If the pump is not calling for water, expect about zero volts between 2 and 3.

You might check to see which pair of terminals has power with the pump not running because there is enough pressure. Then during an outage measure the other two terminals. Measuring about zero while there is power on the incoming terminals and zero water pressure means a bad pressure switch.

Hope the problem is the pressure switch. They are cheap and easy to replace compared to what else could be causing the problem.

I presume that your pressure gauge reads zero during the outages and properly otherwise. The problem cannot be the carbon tank or anything else after the pressure tank and pressure gauge.