Water well filtration

Users who are viewing this thread

ACWxRADR

Reaction score
Requesting advice.

I have not completed all my water evaluation tests yet, but I have completed two in situ tests to discover the pH and (H2S) hydrogen sulfide parameters. My new well water pH is 7.05 and the H2S is reading zero after conducting a Hach HS-C test several times - straight from the well. I know that the ferrous iron content is high, but I have not submitted my sample to the lab yet to know exactly what it is.

After exposing the water to air, it turns orange-ish within eight hours and the ferric iron settles out as a precipitate. I expected this well to have high iron content so I am not caught off guard, I am certain that there is a high calcium content as well so it is hard water. This is a brand new well and I am just getting started in the process of designing my filtration system.

This is my proposal and I would like to hear feedback comments from the gurus here. The first stage will be a natural zeolite filter (BRZ media from Bear River mine in Preston Idaho) atop a gravel bed in a 10x54 tank with a Fleck 5600SXT backwash valve. Second stage will be a 10x54 tank with BIRM media and a gravel bed with a Fleck 5600SXT-OCS (air chamber) valve. The 3rd and final stage will be a Jacobi catalytic carbon filter in another 10x54 filter atop a gravel bed with a Fleck 5600SXT backwash valve.

Please reply with any comments and suggestions.

Gordo

Reach4

Reaction score
The first stage will be a natural zeolite filter (BRZ media from Bear River mine in Preston Idaho) atop a gravel bed in a 10x54 tank with a Fleck 5600SXT backwash valve.
Katalox Light is composed of zeolite coated with 10% manganese dioxide coating. It is more effective than just zeolite. You may not need injection, or you could benefit from injection, such as H2O2 into the incoming water. You could benefit from a bleach solution during the scheduled backwash. Or you may need nether.