Cutting a Square Hole in Fiberglass Shower Surround

Users who are viewing this thread

BobL22

Reaction score
Hi, newly registered to the forum, but I've visited a lot for help and insight in the past. I've searched the site, but couldn't find an answer to this question. I'm installing a Brizo (Delta) shower valve and trim in my shower surround. I've used a hole saw in the past for installing round valves, etc., however, this trim package is rectangular, and I actually have to trace around the rectangular body (to cut the surround) so that it is slightly recessed into the surround wall. Understanding the criticality of getting this right, what is the proper tool/method to accomplish this? Thanks in advance for the help.

Reach4

Reaction score
I have no knowledge of that trim. For cutting rectangular holes where the cut needs to be good, but does not need to be perfect, I use a jigsaw with a metal cutting blade, maybe 24 TPI. It cuts slower than a courser blade. I use the orbital feature to speed things up if needed.

If the trim does not actually cover the cut edge, I would not try such a cut. If you think the edge is going to show, I suspect you want to re-read; that does not seem right. I am not a pro.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Fiberglass does not like square cornered holes...it puts a fair amount of stress on the materials, and is more likely to crack. So, I suggest that you draw out where you want the hole, then use a drill bit on the corners to actually make them a curve, then, you can cut the lines connecting them. Depending on how the thing is made, a saber saw might put a lot of stress on it and crack things. Some of those panels can be cut just by using a utility knife with a new (sharp) blade. Does the instruction set give any indications? Maybe a call to the manufacturer would be a good idea.