Question about breaker for water heater

Users who are viewing this thread

Jakester

Reaction score
I am selling a mobile home and we had the inspection done and one of the things I need to fix is replace the breaker for the water heater from 25amp to 30amp but the problem is nobody in the area has a 30amp breaker like I need. Would it work to get a double 15amp in its place?

Reach4

Reaction score
No. A double 30 would work. For a 120 volt circuit, you would leave one pole unused.

I am not an electrician, but I think that would be allowed.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
An electric WH needs the service wiring to be 125% of the power required to operate it (80% rule). At 25A, the unit can draw no more than 25*0.8, or 20A. The breaker is there to protect the wiring. What gauge is the supply wiring? If you go from a 25A breaker to a 30A one, the wiring may not be large enough. The breaker is to protect the wiring, not so much the device itself (unless it's in the device).

What wattage are the elements in the WH?

WorthFlorida

Clinical Trail on a Cancer Drug Started 1/31/24. ☹
Solutions
Reaction score
Can you post a picture of the water heater rating plate?