Replacing pneumatic tank with bladder tank

Users who are viewing this thread

Keesa

Reaction score
Anything special I need to know when replacing pnematic tank with bladder tank? Saw a post that said remove snifter valve and bleeder orifice. Is it necessary to remove the bleeder orifice, the ground is already frozen here. What happens if I don’t?

Thanks!

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro, and I have no relevant experience. Here is my understanding.

There are at least two ways that the pneumatic tank gets air. One is with a micronizer that pulls in air, and the classic is the way you describe -- have a drain back valve or just a small hole down the well to let the water drain into the well. The drain back valve should have minimal leakage when the pressure at that point is less than some amount. The hole will drain back water when there is pressure.

If the drain back valve is working right, the main thing is to remove the check valve that is above ground, usually close to the tank. The same for the hole, except that the hole will cause more water to drain back, and the pump will need to cycle even more to replace the drained back water. Removing the innards of the check valve is the same as removing the check valve for this purpose.

Thinking about that check valve again, maybe it would be best to leave it intact in case you have a hole rather than a properly working drain back valve. I don't know. Maybe leave it there unless you get a bang whenever the pump starts. In that case, I would still have it removed when the drain-back valve or hole is removed.